Art journal · Gel print · Mixed media

You Are Enough

[Challenge win: Top rocker at 613 Avenue Create challenge]
[Challenge win: Winner at Arty Divas challenge]

Week 1Week 2Week 3Week 4

It’s my final Monday in the designer spotlight on Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge this month, and I’ve had an awesome time making projects for this stint.

This week, the challenge is: Emboss It.


For my project, I made an art journal page featuring embossing using stencils.

I started the background by using a round gel plate to apply some acrylics onto the page. I then applied some modeling paste through a stencil. I also applied lines of the modeling paste with a palette knife.

After the modeling paste dried, I pounced acrylics over the embossed area through the same stencil. I then added some acrylics splatters and acrylics drips to the background.

For the focal insects, I used dye ink with stamps. I fussy cut the shapes and roughly inked the edges with distress ink before adhering them to the background.

For the quote, I used a printed sentiment that I hand-traced for a more rustic feel. I inked the edges of the quote strip with distress ink, and adhered the strip to the background. Ta da!


Products used:


So that was my project. Do check out the gorgeous creations from the amazing design team at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge for more inspiration to create your project!

The design team, as always, will choose a selection of their entries to put in the spotlight. What’s more, a randomly selected winner will get a $25 voucher to shop at the Simon Says Stamp Store!

Many thanks to the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Design Team for their kind invitation to feature in the Designer Spotlight this month!


With this project, I’m joining these challenges –

613 Avenue Create Sep Challenge - Anything Goes
613 Avenue Create Sep Challenge – Anything Goes
Arty Divas Sep Challenge - Anything Goes
Arty Divas Sep Challenge – Anything Goes
Happy Little Stampers Sep Stencil Challenge
Happy Little Stampers Sep Stencil Challenge

— Guest designer posts in this series —

Week 1Week 2Week 3Week 4

7 thoughts on “You Are Enough

  1. Absolutely gorgeous art journalling Anita! the background is stunning and I love the insects and sentiment, simply perfect!
    Thanks so very much for agreeing to be in the spotlight this month! It has been such a great pleasure to have you along with us and I am sure we will get to do this again soon xx

    Hope you have a great week!
    Luv
    Lols x x x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lols, and thanks so much for the opportunity! I had a lot of fun with my projects, and would love to grab the chance whenever it arises next. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.