Mixed media

Let’s Party

[Challenge win: Top rocker at 613 Avenue Create challenge]

Week 1Week 2Week 3Week 4

I’m delighted to be in the designer spotlight on Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge again! That means every Monday throughout this month, I get to share creative space with the Monday Challenge design team. How awesome is that!

This week, the challenge is: Stamp It. As usual, this being the first week of the month, Simon Says Stamp products are being featured. What’s more, this month also kicks off Stamptember! Does it feel like a party yet? 😉


I made a tag / bookmark for this occasion.

Let's Party - Tag/Bookmark by Anita

I used product packaging for the tag’s body, which I trimmed and punched a small eyelet hole into. For the pattern on the body, I used a background stamp over which I applied various dye inks. I employed one of my favorite stamping techniques, which is to spritz the ink with water before I stamp–this gives the stamped image a watercolor-like feel. ❤

I let the stamped image dry, then painted in some light-colored ‘streams’ of watercolor at the top and bottom of the tag. After this too dried, I inked the edges with distress ink.

Let's Party - Tag/Bookmark by Anita

For the focal insects, I used a stamp with dye ink on a different sheet of thick paper. I colored the insects using watercolors and fussy cut them. I then used a multiliner to enhance the outline and reduce some of the white that showed. Finally, I adhered the insects to the background, using a not-too-thick backing to provide just a bit of dimension to them.

For the quote, I used a stamp with dye ink, trimmed the edges around the phrase, and inked them with distress ink. I then adhered the quote to the background with the same not-too-thick backing. I finished the tag / bookmark by adding some acrylics splatters. Ta da!


Products used:


So that was my project. Do check out the fabulous creations from the talented design team at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge for more inspiration to create your project.

The design team, as always, will choose a selection of their entries to put in the spotlight. What’s more, a randomly selected winner will get a $25 voucher to shop at the Simon Says Stamp Store!

Many thanks to the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Design Team for their kind invitation to feature in the Designer Spotlight this month!

With this project, I’m joining these challenges –

613 Avenue Create Sep Challenge - Anything Goes (w/ Optional Twist: Leaves)
613 Avenue Create Sep Challenge – Anything Goes (w/ Optional Twist: Leaves)
Arty Divas Aug Challenge - Anything Goes
Arty Divas Aug Challenge – Anything Goes
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge - Anything Goes
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes
Stamping Sensations Sep Challenge - Feminine
Stamping Sensations Sep Challenge – Feminine
We Love Stamping Sep Challenge - Anything Goes
We Love Stamping Sep Challenge – Anything Goes

— Guest designer posts in this series —

Week 1Week 2Week 3Week 4

12 thoughts on “Let’s Party

  1. Gorgeous tag/bookmark Anita! I love the background, the colors and technique are fabulous! The whole design of this is stunning!!
    So glad to have you back int he spotlight this month!! 🙂

    Hope you have a great week!
    luv
    Lols XXX

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Anita, your bookmark is gorgeous! I love the pattern you’ve used as your background, and the colors your chose. What a delight this would be to keep your place in the book you are reading. Have a wonderful week! Maura

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.