Art journal · Doodle · Gel print · Mixed media

You Matter

Week 1Week 2Week 3Week 4

Another Monday arrives, and brings with it my third week in the designer spotlight on Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge this month!

This week, the challenge is: Sparkle and Shine.


Sparkle and shine is not really my cup of tea. 🙂 I do own metallic acrylics, however, so I tried using them in an art journal page for a sparkly, shiny background.

You Matter--an art journal spread by Anita

I used a black card-stock page for this project so there’s ample contrast for shiny additions, and employed a gel plate, which is one of my favorite art supplies, for the background design. I used the gel plate with metallic acrylics and a mandala stencil, and printed the negative image over the journal page.

I then used a couple of polka dots stencils and pounced lighter metallic and white acrylics through them for a bokeh-like effect.

You Matter--an art journal spread by Anita

For the focal butterfly, I used a solid die cut, over which I made some zentangle-inspired doodles using a fineliner pen. I adhered the butterfly to the background, and drew antennae using a white gel pen.

I then created the quote over black scrap paper, using a stamp with white embossing powder. Finally, I added some splatters using both metallic and white acrylics. Ta da!


Products used:


So that was my project. Do check out the stunning creations from the awesome design team at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge for more inspiration to create your project!

The design team, as always, will choose a selection of their entries to put in the spotlight. What’s more, a randomly selected winner will get a $25 voucher to shop at the Simon Says Stamp Store!

Many thanks to the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Design Team for their kind invitation to feature in the Designer Spotlight this month!


— Guest designer posts in this series —

Week 1Week 2Week 3Week 4

9 thoughts on “You Matter

  1. Absolutely gorgeous art journal page Anita 🙂 the dark background with the gold is just stunning and I love the butterfly and sentiment too, brilliant design!! 👏 👏 👏

    Hope you have a great week!
    luv
    Lols x x x

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You may think sparkle and shine as not really your cup of tea, but I think it definitely might be a part of your heart for it to shine through so beautifully in your creations. Wonderful artwork and a truly important message.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.