Mixed media · Polymer clay

Mechanics of a Dream

[Challenge win: Top rocker at 613 Avenue Create challenge]
[Challenge win: Winner at A Bit More Time To Craft challenge]

Here’s a mixed media tag I made recently –

Mechanics of a Dream | Mixed Media Tag | Anita

I used parts of packaging cardboard for the tag. I made a tag hole using a punch. I then used a circular tag diecut for the eyelet, which I stuck to the background.

I added a coat of gesso over the background. I added texture to the background using modeling paste over a stencil. I then used regular and metallic acrylics with some water spritzing to drive the color into the nooks and crannies of the textured area.

Mechanics of a Dream | Mixed Media Tag | Anita

Meanwhile, I used polymer clay with molds to make some components, which I baked, and then brushed gesso over. I used regular acrylics for an undercoat, and then topped it up with a combination of pink, orange, and blue metallic acrylics for that extra sparkly shine.

I created the composition on the background by adhering the components with glossy soft gel. I then used orange and gold metallic waxes on the components as well as on the eyelet. I then again made use of darker regular acrylics with water spritzing for additional shadowed depth. Ta da!

Mechanics of a Dream | Mixed Media Tag | Anita

Though I have a long way to go in mixed media assemblage, I no longer feel overwhelmed by the process, and am much more at ease piling on components on top of one another. That’s progress, right? 🙂 (Check out my first assemblage project for comparison! 😉 I’ve reused one of the components from that project here – did you notice which one it is?)


With this tag, I’m joining these challenges –

613 Avenue Create Challenge #7 July: Anything Goes w/ Optional Twist: Water Color
613 Avenue Create Challenge #7 July: Anything Goes w/ Optional Twist: Water Color
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #142 - Anything Goes
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #142 – Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge #July - Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge #July – Anything Goes
CrafTangles Challenge - July 2021 - Birthday / Confetti / Sparkle
CrafTangles Challenge – July 2021 – Birthday / Confetti / Sparkle
Happy Little Stampers July Stencil Challenge
Happy Little Stampers July Stencil Challenge
Mixed Media Place - June 2021 challenge
Mixed Media Place – June 2021 challenge
More Mixed Media Challenge - Anything Goes w/ Optional Pastel
More Mixed Media Challenge – Anything Goes w/ Optional Pastel
STAMPlorations July Summer Challenge
STAMPlorations July Summer Challenge

24 thoughts on “Mechanics of a Dream

  1. A gorgeous creation, Anita! I love the soft colors. And the stenciling looks amazing. Great to see you in the HLS Stencils Challenge. Hope you will join us this month too! Nandini, DT

    Like

Comments are closed.