Art journal · Gel print · Mixed media

Focus

[Challenge win: Top rocker at 613 Avenue Create challenge]
[Challenge win: Winner at 613 Avenue Create challenge]
[Challenge win: Winner at More Mixed Media challenge]

Here’s a recent art journal spread of mine –

Focus | Art Journal | Anita

The background of this spread is a ghost print from a previous gel-printing session with acrylics and a stencil. It’s one of those rare times when ghost printing turns out well – I don’t know if it’s the weather here, but the paint remnants usually don’t come off well from the gel plate when I take ghost prints. So I was pretty happy with this one.

On this ghost-print background, I used more stencils with acrylics, followed by stamping with some metallic acrylics that I used in another art session. I then used a Posca marker with a stencil to trace flowers along the right edge, and used fineliners and watercolor pencils (with some water spritzing) on the flowers.

Focus | Art Journal | Anita

I fussy cut the focal vulture from the cover of a chocolate bar – the bird was embossed on the cover, and is textured to the touch. I’ve been experimenting with a limited set of Copic markers and slowly figuring them out, so I used them for the coloring. The glossiness of the paper made any kind of color transitioning difficult, so I chose a monochromatic palette. The paper is also slightly thick, so I can’t paint other elements that partially cover the bird while seamlessly fitting in – I’ll need to find a way to thin out the paper.

Anyway, after the coloring, I used a Posca marker to sharpen the gleam in the vulture’s eye. For the quote, I used a fineliner with an alphabet stencil, and a Posca marker to outline the letters. I used a fineliner for the radiating arcs. I added dots to the background using an oil-marker, and scribbled an edge with a fineliner and gel pen. That completes the spread. Ta da!


With this spread, I’m joining the following challenges –

613 Avenue Create Challenge #7 July: Anything Goes w/ Optional Twist: Water Color
613 Avenue Create Challenge #7 July: Anything Goes w/ Optional Twist: Water Color
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge - July - Anything Goes
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge – July – Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge #July - Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge #July – Anything Goes
Corrosive Challenge #7 - July 2021 - Anything goes
Corrosive Challenge #7 – July 2021 – Anything goes
Happy Little Stampers July Stencil Challenge
Happy Little Stampers July Stencil Challenge
More Mixed Media Challenge - Anything Goes w/ Optional Pastel
More Mixed Media Challenge – Anything Goes w/ Optional Pastel
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge - Emboss It
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge – Emboss It
STAMPlorations July Summer Challenge
STAMPlorations July Summer Challenge

9 thoughts on “Focus

    1. Thank you, Ginny! It’s fun to experiment. I would very much like to figure out how to get the paper to be thinner and non-glossy so I can use it better. Maybe someday. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.