Art journal · Mixed media

Magical Day

[Challenge win: Winner at A Bit More Time To Craft Extra challenge]
[Challenge win: Top-5 at More Mixed Media challenge]

Here’s a recent art journal spread of mine –

Magical Day | Art Journal | Anita

I started this spread with a coating of Gesso, over which I used a stencil with modeling paste for some texture. I used acrylics and spritzed water over the paint to spread it around the textured areas. I also used acrylics with stencils to add visually to the texture.

I then employed some stamping with dye inks for more visual texture. I made use of gray and black fineliners for some scribbling, both over the stamped areas as well as for quick scribble journaling.

Magical Day | Art Journal | Anita

For the focal flowers, I used a die cut, which I colored using Copic markers. I adhered the focal to the background, then used the same gray fineliner for a scribbly, sketchy outline.

I used a stamp with archival ink and dye ink for the quote. I fussy cut the stamped area, and used a watercolor pencil with water brush pen for the background and edges of the strips. I then adhered the quote over the background. That completed the spread. Ta da!


With this spread, I’m joining these challenges –

613 Avenue Create Challenge #9 / Sep - School Daze
613 Avenue Create Challenge #9 / Sep – School Daze
ABMTTC Extra Challenge - Sep - Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge – Sep – Anything Goes
CrafTangles Challenge - Sep - Anything Goes
CrafTangles Challenge – Sep – Anything Goes
Happy Little Stampers Sep Anything Goes with Dies Challenge
Happy Little Stampers Sep Anything Goes with Dies Challenge
Happy Little Stampers Sep Stencil Challenge
Happy Little Stampers Sep Stencil Challenge
More Mixed Media Challenge - Anything Goes w/ Optional Brown
More Mixed Media Challenge – Anything Goes w/ Optional Brown
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge - Fun With Stencils
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Fun With Stencils
STAMPlorations September Summer Challenge
STAMPlorations September Summer Challenge

20 thoughts on “Magical Day

  1. Fabulous mixed media piece love all the texture,great sentiment and die-cut flower a perfect finishing touch.Thank you for joining us at 613 Avenue Create and hope you will join us again
    Carol DT x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I love how your background looks and loved reading how you created it. The die cut flowers look amazing over the top. “Have a magical day” is a great sentiment for this page.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.