Art journal · Gel print · Mixed media

Be Bold

[Challenge win: Designer spotlight at Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge]

Here’s a recent art journal spread of mine –

Be Bold | Art Journal | Anita

I’ve not been great at using washi tape in my art journaling, and had been thinking I should do something about it. Guess it was finally time for me to roll up my sleeves and get to it, so here we are.

After a lot of looking for washi tape related ideas, I was inspired by a video on YouTube by Keren Tamir, since the process was simple and fun, and more importantly, there wasn’t any chance of me wondering “what next” when I see all the washi tape on the page staring back at me. 🙂

Be Bold | Art Journal | Anita

So I adhered lots and lots of washi tape on the empty background, used soft matte gel for a stable layer that I can start working on, and employed stencils with modeling paste for some additional tactile texture.

I then brushed white gesso strokes over the background, over which I applied acrylics, again employing stencils. I used pouncing as well as a gel plate for varied results. I also used a Posca marker for outlines. Finally, I added acrylics drips at the vertical edges of the spread.

For the quote, I used die cuts. I tried embellishing them, and concluded that leaving the lettering plain screams ‘bold‘ louder. 😉 So that completes my spread. Ta da!


With this spread, I’m joining these challenges –

613 Avenue Create Challenge #9 / Sep - School Daze
613 Avenue Create Challenge #9 / Sep – School Daze
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #145 - Sep/Oct - Anything Goes
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #145 – Sep/Oct – Anything Goes
CrafTangles Challenge - Sep - Anything Goes
CrafTangles Challenge – Sep – Anything Goes
Happy Little Stampers Sep Anything Goes with Dies Challenge
Happy Little Stampers Sep Anything Goes with Dies Challenge
Happy Little Stampers Sep Stencil Challenge
Happy Little Stampers Sep Stencil Challenge
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge - Fun With Stencils
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Fun With Stencils
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge - Lots Of Layers
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge – Lots Of Layers
STAMPlorations September Summer Challenge
STAMPlorations September Summer Challenge

11 thoughts on “Be Bold

  1. So creative and visually stunning!
    So glad you have shared this with us at 613 Avenue Create.
    Please come back again!
    The best of luck with your entry.
    Jackie, DT member at 613 xx

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Fabulous journal spread. I similarly struggle to use washi on any projects so you’ve inspired me to change that!
    Thanks for joining us at Happy Little Stampers Anything Goes with Dies challenge.
    Happy crafting!
    Catherine x DT

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.