Beads · Earrings · Jewelry

Inspired by Iced Tea | We’re All Ears Challenge

The folks at Earrings Everyday host a themed monthly challenge – We’re All Ears – with a reveal and blog hop on the third Friday of the month. For July, we get to be inspired by our favorite summer drink! Doesn’t that sound like fun! 🙂

It’s pretty difficult to think of a summer drink when it’s rainy and chilly here in Bangalore 😉 but while I sipped hot tea one cold afternoon, its sister, the iced tea, came to mind. What’s not to like about a refreshing drink that readily accepts different flavors being blended in, and still maintains its inherent ‘tea-ness’ underneath!

I thought I could use the dregs from my tea for a pair of paper-based earrings… (Let the creativity flow!) And this was the result –

Iced Tea Paper Earrings | Anita

The pattern

I spread the dregs on a piece of paper, then quickly removed them. I then reduced the amount of dregs, then re-spread them again on the paper for a longer while, and removed them again. I repeated the reduce + re-spread + remove process a couple more times to get a pattern of smaller, darker brown specks over larger, lighter brown ones.

The beads

I cut out long right angled triangle paper strips, and made conical paper beads by rolling the strips around a thin piece of wire, using glue on the paper during the rolling to ensure the beads don’t unravel. These form the bead bases.

I then cut a couple of squarish shapes from the tea-patterned paper, ensuring that they are slightly larger than the length of the paper beads. I draped each square over a paper bead, retaining the same conical shape – but looser, like a slightly oversized dress – and made them stay put that way using glue.

I used a couple of layers of Mod Podge for some gloss, which I then reduced by lightly rubbing the beads with some fine sandpaper. Then I squished the base of these tea-patterned cones a bit, and twisted them. Ah now that’s a look I like!

The assembly

For each earring, I strung a dark brown bead through a long gold-colored head pin, then added the paper bead, and made an eye hole at the top, to which I attached an earring finding. For more interest, I added tiny pre-wired black loreal seed beads to a jump ring and attached it to the earring finding.

Yeah! I totally love this earring pair – simple, light and pretty. 🙂


This is a blog hop, so please check out what the other participants have made by heading over to the reveal at Earrings Everyday.

12 thoughts on “Inspired by Iced Tea | We’re All Ears Challenge

  1. When I was travelling to and from Bangalore last week, all I could think of was – “Can I get a cup of tea please?” so I really get your inspiration and realisation

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What an interesting process and great idea to use your actual tea to create your earrings. They are quite mysterious and I’m sure will have everyone wondering what they’re made out of.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How very clever! I love that you not only were inspired by the drink, but used it in such an unique way to make the earrings! What a great idea! Thanks for playing along in the We’re All Ears challenge. Cheers! Enjoy the day! Erin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Rosantia! I hoped the pattern would turn out something like this, and I’m glad the process didn’t disappoint.

      Like

Comments are closed.