Art journal · Mixed media

Believe

[Challenge win: Top rocker at 613 Avenue Create challenge]
[Challenge win: Winner at 613 Avenue Create challenge]

Happy 2023, everyone! This year, I hope to believe a bit more–in myself, in others, that things will go okay–and act accordingly. Here’s a recent art journal page of mine that reflects these thoughts –

An art journal spread of a blue face impression hand-drawn over a messily painted blue and white area

I kept this session (and the results) pretty minimal. I started by adhering hand-torn paper scraps over the page. I then followed that by painting reddish undertones and bluish/whitish overtones using acrylic paints. I painted both with my fingers and with a brush, and it was much fun!

I then made acrylic drips using the same dark blue acrylic paint that I used earlier.

Closeup of n art journal spread of a blue face impression hand-drawn over a messily painted blue, white, and pink area

I hand-drew the focal impression of a face using a blue Copic marker. I followed this with a quote that I hand-wrote using a white Posca marker.

I finally made some white acrylic splatters to complete the spread. Ta da!


With this page, I’m joining these challenges –

613 Avenue Create Jan Challenge - Anything Goes (w/ Optional Twist: Winter Theme)
613 Avenue Create Jan Challenge – Anything Goes (w/ Optional Twist: Winter Theme)
A Place To Start Jan Challenge - Anything Goes
A Place To Start Jan Challenge – Anything Goes

13 thoughts on “Believe

  1. Me too! And I recognize these words in me too. It’ll be ok and believe a little bit more in myself…..no we should proudly say I believe in myself. It’s going to be a good year! I want to grow my following and sell art…an art business I want! Here’s to us!We an do this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The face was initially drawn to be a quick and easy attempt, but it did end up with a serene aura, and I love it! Thank you. 🙂

      Like

  2. Wow! Awesome artwork here. That teardrop!
    Very happy to see this in our mailbox at 613 Avenue Create.
    Please come back again!
    The best of luck with your entry.
    Jackie, DT member at 613 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.