Art journal · Doodle · Gel print · Mixed media

Whimsical Cat

[Challenge win: Top 5 at More Mixed Media challenge]

Here’s a recent art journal spread of mine –

Whimsical Cat | Art Journal | Anita

I started the spread with a background from a different session – gel print negatives from acrylics and different stencils. I added to the stenciled shapes by doodling around them with a fineliner, a Posca marker, and an oil-based marker.

I made the focal cat on a different piece of paper. I started out with a coat of gesso, followed by a rough sketch of the cat, and then used watercolor cakes, watercolor pencils, and a water brush pen for the colors. I fussy cut the cat and adhered it on the background with Mod Podge.

Whimsical Cat | Art Journal | Anita
I accidentally colored the nose black, and now this whimsical cat is part-dog! 🙂

I then augmented the cat by adding some shading with watercolor pencils and a water brush pen. I added outlines, marks, and doodles with a fineliner, a Posca marker, and gel pens. I also augmented the background with more watercolors, and some stamps with dye inks which I spritzed with water before stamping. I then added acrylics splatters.

I added a speech bubble using a diecut, which I outlined with a watercolor pencil and water brush pen. I added the hearts using a watercolor pencil and some gel pens. To finish the spread, I drew along the edges with a fineliner. Ta da!


With this spread, I’m joining these challenges –

613 Avenue Create Challenge #5 May: Anything Goes
613 Avenue Create Challenge #5 May: Anything Goes
Addicted to Stamps and More Challenge #405 - Die Cuts and/or Stencils
Addicted to Stamps and More Challenge #405 – Die Cuts and/or Stencils
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #140 - Anything Goes
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #140 – Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge #May - Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge #May – Anything Goes
Happy Little Stampers May Stencil Challenge
Happy Little Stampers May Stencil Challenge
More Mixed Media Challenge - Anything Goes w/ Optional Pink
More Mixed Media Challenge – Anything Goes w/ Optional Pink
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge - Four Legged Friends
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Four Legged Friends
STAMPlorations May Stencil Challenge
STAMPlorations May Stencil Challenge

20 thoughts on “Whimsical Cat

  1. What a fabulous, detailed journal page, Anita! I love the layered patterns in the background and how your fun kitty takes centre stage. Love the added details and whimsical doodling too.
    Thanks for sharing with us at ATSM and I hope you will join us again.
    Hugs
    Carol x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fabulous and fun project with wonderful colours..
    Thank you so much for joining in with us at 613 Avenue Create..hope you will play along again..
    Luv CHRISSYxx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fun page ! Love this whimsical cat and how you coloured it. Your background is just stunning with all these details. Thanks so much for sharing and for playing along at ATSM.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a cool cat, he looks like he traveled from the 70´s to nowadays. Great patterns in the background and, of course, an adorable whimsical star of the show. All you need is love ❤️!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow…Whimsical Artsy Cat with fabulous colors, stamping, stenciling, doodling and More! So pleased Anita that you joined us again at STAMPlorations Stencil. Hugs..Nancy

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.