Art journal · Mixed media

Little Things

[Challenge win: Winner at 613 Avenue Create challenge]

I’m delighted to be a guest designer at A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge today!

Lozzy, the host of this challenge, creates beautiful digi-papers, and I used one of her earlier digi-paper sets, Dream Chic, for my art journal spread.


Little Things | Art Journal | Anita

I tore the digi-paper almost along its diagonal, and adhered it along opposite corners of my journal. I then added strokes of acrylics paint to blend the paper with the ‘plain’ center.

I used a stencil with some modeling paste to create texture diagonally across my spread. After it dried, I added some acrylic paint with water spritzing, so it settles down along the valleys of the texture. I also applied a bit of metallic wax on the raised portions of the texture, and lightly stamped some additional texture on the background.

Little Things | Art Journal | Anita

On a different piece of paper, I stamped some insects using various stamps and archival ink, and used watercolor pencils (and a water brush pen) to color them. I first added some acrylics splatters to the spread, then fussy-cut these insects and pasted them over the background.

For the quote, I used stamps with dye inks, and fussy-cut the rectangles. After pasting the quote strips over the spread, I outlined them with a multiliner. Ta da!


Many thanks to Lozzy for this chance to feature as a guest designer on her challenge blog. Please do check out A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge if you haven’t done so already – the Design Team creates inspiring projects that use digi-papers!


With this project, I’m joining these challenges –

613 Avenue Create Challenge #2 Feb: Anything Goes w/ Optional Twist: Heart and Soles
613 Avenue Create Challenge #2 Feb: Anything Goes w/ Optional Twist: Heart and Soles
ABMTTC Extra Challenge #March - Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge #March – Anything Goes
More Mixed Media Challenge - Anything Goes w/ Optional Red
More Mixed Media Challenge – Anything Goes w/ Optional Red
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge - Anything But A Card
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Anything But A Card
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge - Art Journal
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Art Journal
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge - Anything Goes
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge – Anything Goes
STAMPlorations March Stencil Challenge
STAMPlorations March Stencil Challenge
Your Scrapbook Place - March Challenge
Your Scrapbook Place – March Challenge

16 thoughts on “Little Things

  1. Oh… the rich winding textures in the diagonal! They stand out wonderfully to give room for the beautiful insects take flight!
    Congratulations on your GD spot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gorgeous Mixed Media layered journal pages with Stunning colors and textures. TFS and joining us at STAMPlorations Stencil Challenge. Hugs….Nancy

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This caught my eyes immediately in the stencil challenge at STAMPlorations! Loving the floral stenciling in the background with beautiful butterflies fluttering by. Stunning choice of colors used Anita. You nailed it Miss GDT šŸ™‚ Kudos! Thank you for playing along with us at STAMPlorations March Stencil Challenge. Have a good day!
    Hugs~Asmah~STAMPlorations DT

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful journal pages. I love the colors and textures. The yellow glow in the middle is what caught my eye and really drew it in. Thanks for sharing with STAMPlorations Stencil Challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.