Art journal · Mixed media

Embrace the Fuzziness | Art Journal

[Challenge win: Top 5 at More Mixed Media challenge]

The vagueness surrounding us during these unprecedented times was making me go through pretty unhelpful emotions. I made this art journal spread recently about embracing all the vague, fuzzy, not-sure-what-you’re-doing stuff as just being part of current life – I cannot avoid it but I can choose how to react to it in a manner that keeps me sane. So now, I do things that keep me positive (this part is easy) while trying to mentally distance myself from the frustrating stuff (this part is difficult, really difficult.)

Embrace the Fuzziness | Art Journal | Anita

This is one of those times when the background just wouldn’t work with me. I mainly used gesso, stencils, and acrylics to try to get something that I liked. I think in the end, there were so many layers on the background that they ended up looking good overall, so I left it at that. šŸ™‚

I brought in vagueness by making my focal image fuzzy. I stamped multiple times, each time using a different color and stamping slightly away from the previous image. To bring the background and foreground together, I also stamped other images on the background. I then added a few lines & circles using multiliners & fineliners, and journaled using a black fineliner.

For the quote, I used alphabet stamps, stamping each letter pretty close to its neighbor, and shadowed the letters using a fineliner. I then fussy cut rectangles, and outlined them using watercolor pencils. Some more watercolor pencils on the page edges, and the spread was complete. Ta da!


With this spread, I’m joining the following challenges –

613 Avenue Create Challenge #232 - Anything Goes w/Optional Twist: Use Geometric Papers
613 Avenue Create Challenge #232 – Anything Goes w/Optional Twist: Use Geometric Papers
Alphabet Challenge - A is for Anything Goes
Alphabet Challenge – A is for Anything Goes
Arty Divas - Challenge 19
Arty Divas – Challenge 19
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #114 - Anything Goes
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #114 – Anything Goes
More Mixed Media Challenge - Anything Goes w/ Optional Yellow
More Mixed Media Challenge – Anything Goes w/ Optional Yellow
A Perfect Time To Craft Challenge for April, #4-2020
A Perfect Time To Craft Challenge for April, #4-2020
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge - ā€˜Eā€™ is for?
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – ā€˜Eā€™ is for?
STAMPlorations April Stencil Challenge
STAMPlorations April Stencil Challenge

13 thoughts on “Embrace the Fuzziness | Art Journal

  1. Dear Anita, your art journal page is very beautiful and filled with plenty of emotions. It’s like you are dropping your thoughts on the page and in the end it’s your possitive essence that’s making it cohesive. In these unprecedented times, it’s very important to stay positive and creative. You’re a beautiful example of creativity and inner strength
    . Take care of yourself and stay safe!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is so beautiful Anita! I love the colors and the background is fabulous. I am so glad you and I have a hobby to keep us sane and probably busier than ever creating or doing something else during this uncertainty scenario we breath in now. Do continue doing your art so I can enjoy your wonderful pieces of art work and feel inspired. Thank you for playing along with us at STAMPLorations April Stencil Challenge and looking forward to your beautiful creations next month šŸ™‚
    Hugs and smiles,
    Asmah
    STAMPlorations {Stencil Design Team}
    Qinaahana Arts & Crafts {My Personal Blog}
    My Instagram

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Asmah – I’m glad you enjoyed my spread! And thank you for the stream of challenges – that’s always an inspiration to get creating! šŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I’ve been sewing a lot with pleasure, I confess, but paper crafting doesn’t want anything from me. I can relate so much to your journal page…
    Please keep sending your thoughts and positive vibes, maybe I’ll be able to create something.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sewing might be the break that’ll make you come back to paper crafting with renewed enthusiasm. šŸ™‚ I’d love to see your sewing if you’d like to share it!

      Like

Comments are closed.