Art journal · Mixed media

Wildflowers

Hello! It’s the first Friday of this month, and Creative Artiste is back after an end-of-year break with a brand new monthly challenge! As always, the theme for the challenge is Anything Mixed Media Goes. (Do visit the challenge blog to check out what is accepted by our challenge as mixed media.)

I made this art journal spread for my inspiration project –

An art journal spread over 2 pages. The background is blue with areas of dark blue and white from stencil textures. Pink and yellow wildflowers form the focal elements.

I used more of my dwindling blue acrylic paint for this session. I spread the paint with my fingers and played with the textures for a while. I then darkened the vertical edges using a bit of black with the blue, mixing the paint on a gel plate, running a brayer to pick up thin layers of paint and applying it to the edges.

I then added some whitish paper scraps from a previous session, followed by a dabbing a mixture of white acrylics and white gesso with my fingers to blend the scraps more with the background. I dabbed away the gesso mixture at a few areas for more texture.

I spread the leftover blue/black paint over areas of the page, placed a stencil over the areas, and dabbed away the paint for a negative effect. I also pounced white gesso through a stencil for more traditional stencil-derived textures.

Closeup of an art journal spread showing areas of textured white and blue background, and some focal pink and yellow wildflowers.

I used a stamp with black acrylic paint over some areas–I repeatedly brought down the stamp lightly around the same area for a clustered effect. (I need more practice with this.) I also added some splatters using this paint.

I made the focal flowers using a stamp on a different piece of paper. I made multiple stampings with dye inks, and added in color using watercolor pencils with a water brush pen. I fussy cut the flowers, adhered them to the page, and drew stalks for them using a black fineliner. I then added some marks with a Copic marker.

To finish the spread, I printed out a quote and adhered strips of it to the background, and made straight & squiggly outlines around the strips using a multiliner. Ta da!

Head on over to Creative Artiste for inspiring projects by the rest of the design team and by Emma Trenouth, our guest this month. Hope you enjoy your mixed media projects and join our challenge!


With this spread, I’m joining these challenges –

Challenge wins –

26 thoughts on “Wildflowers

  1. Beautiful textured look on the background and the colors make the red flowers pop. Thanks for playing in our challenge over at Try it on Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.