Art journal · Mixed media

Magical Dreams

Here’s a recent art journal page of mine –

An art journal page with a grungy, scrappy background in white, gray, and blue, with a lot of black and white marks on it. A patterned yellow moon is in the foreground over a stamped yellow, orange, and black disc.

I made this page using some new supplies that I bought recently–a new stamp, and a much-awaited archival-quality black ink.

The page started out with some spray smooshes from a previous session. On this, I used acrylic paints for some finger-painting. I then used more acrylics on a gel plate with a brayer for a bit of a grungy texture.

On this, I adhered various scraps from previous sessions that used stencils with acrylics and sprays. I then used white gesso for more finger-painting. I also added gesso splatters.

Closeup of an art journal page showing a grungy, scrappy background in white, gray, and blue, with a lot of black and white marks on it. A patterned yellow moon is in the foreground over a stamped yellow, orange, and black disc.

The colors were pretty vibrant, so I added some diluted gesso to the page using an old card as a squeegee. To add more interest to the background, I used my new archival ink with some stamps for some light stamping. I also made some marks with a black Copic marker and a white Posca marker.

I used a heat gun over an old receipt to obtain a negative print of the faded content on the receipt. Over this, I used a hard-carved stamp with acrylic ink, then fussy cut it.

For the focal moon, I used my new stamp with dye ink and fussy cut it. Along its edges, I applied distress ink and watercolor with a pencil, and roughly traced its outline with a fineliner. I then added a printed quote, and outlined it with a multiliner. I finally drew some tassels with a fineliner. Ta da!


With this page, I’m joining these challenges –

Challenge wins –

20 thoughts on “Magical Dreams

  1. What a gorgeous page ~ magical for sure! Such wonderful layering, texture and colors popping that moon! Such an interesting technique using an old receipt; thanks for sharing that! Wonderful to see you at The Outlawz AG in a Card Free Zone! ~Katrina

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Cynthia! New supplies, new skills–they’re always thrilling, and I’m enjoying the excitement of learning more about them.

      Like

  2. I love the idea of using a heat gun over an old receipt to make some marks on your page. I can see where you did that Anita. Your colors are lovely and so is your design. The moon is cool. Thanks so much for linking up to AJJ. It’s much appreciated. hugs-Erika

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great page! Love your design and colors!!! Thank you for sharing with us at AG in a Card Free Zone Challenge on the Outlawz Challenges website. —Shirley

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.