Mixed media

ATC Trio: Trees

Another Monday is here, and brings with it my final week in the designer spotlight at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Wow, it’s been such a fun month!

This week, the theme is Trees.


For my project, I made an ATC trio with trios of trees in each. (Try saying that ten times faster 😉 ) –

A trio of ATCs. A textured background made of single-ply paper includes an orange and violet sky, snowy ground, and white splatters denoting snowflakes. Stylized trees in the foreground are colored with green, maroon, and gold.

I cut out these ATCs from a couple of huge coupons that came with a product. I needed some texture on these, and I used one of my quickest ways to add it–using a single ply of a napkin or cheap toilet paper. I applied some heavy white gesso over this layer after it dried.

I then diluted some compatible warm acrylic colors over a glass surface, and on it, I placed a stencil with a lot of little holes in it. I then removed the stencil and placed it over the ATCs to get a watercolor-like print on them. After the prints dried, I applied cool colors of acrylic over some areas for a bit of a contrast.

Closeup of an ATC showing a textured background made of single-ply paper and splatters, and stylized trees colored with shiny green, maroon, and gold paints.

I also added splatters of cool acrylic colors, followed by splatters of gesso and black acrylics. I then stamped a stitchy border along the edges of the ATCs using dark gray acrylic.

For the focal trees, I repurposed leaf dies. I colored the die-cuts using metallic acrylics, grouped them how I liked, and adhered them to the background. I printed out some quotes, cut strips around the words, applied some distress ink along the edges, and adhered the strips over the background. Ta da!


Products used:


And that was my project! Don’t forget to check out all the tree-lightful projects from the talented design team at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge for more inspiration.

The design team, as always, will choose a selection of their entries to put in the spotlight. What’s more, a randomly selected winner will get a $25 voucher to shop at the Simon Says Stamp Store!

Many thanks to the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge Design Team for their kind invitation to feature in the Designer Spotlight this month!


With these ATCs, I’m joining these challenges –

Challenge wins –


Posts in this series

17 thoughts on “ATC Trio: Trees

  1. How fun and festive are these colorful ATC’s! So creative…and yes, I did try to say that 3 x! hahaha Thanks for sharing with us at Anything Goes in a Card Free Zone! ~Katrina

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.