Art journal · Gel print · Mixed media

What You Do…

Here’s a recent art journal page of mine –

Art journal page with textured acrylic background that includes stamped areas, drips, and splatters; and a focal black-and-white butterfly.

As I sometimes do, I started out this page with a ghost print from a previous gel-printing session. A lot of my ghost prints do not turn out well, and this was one of them. But that’s no problem, since I usually just add other elements over it! ๐Ÿ™‚

So I took out my gel plate again, and played some more–I used acrylics on it with stencils and stamps, and even used a corrugated cardboard for stamping. After I pulled a print, I smudged in some pastels over areas where the color was lacking.

Closeup of art journal page showing textured acrylic background with stamped areas, drips, and splatters; and a focal black-and-white butterfly.

I added more texture to the background by pouncing acrylics through a stencil, and then added some drips and splatters, some of my favorite elements these days! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Since my art journal is small (A6-sized), drips sometimes look huge. I’m still looking for ways to make them consistently narrower.

Anyway, I then stamped the focal butterfly using dye ink, fussy cut it, adhered it, and outlined it with a fineliner. I don’t use a MISTI when I stamp, but sometimes I wish I would. I have conflicting thoughts about the stamping of the butterfly–it suits the page, but too much, I think! ๐Ÿ™‚

Finally, to complete my page, I adhered a pre-printed quote and outlined it with a fineliner. Ta da!


With this page, I’m joining these challenges –

Challenge wins –

14 thoughts on “What You Do…

  1. Gorgeous page. That background is awesome, I love how you’ve played with it from a first design that didn’t work well to this result, it’s fantastic. The colour combo that you’ve chosen is great. Thanks for joining us at A Place To Start. Hugs, Marรญa.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Marรญa! Often, my art journaling involves things that don’t seem to work; I either work over them or just give up and leave them be! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. It’s a gorgeous mixed media piece Anita, lovely blend of colours and focal Butterfly.

    I would mail you but can’t see the option on your blog, so here seems to be the only way to explain that your own privacy statement top right would prevent us selecting your entry/s for a Top 5/10 spot as sadly we do not have time to seek permission should you be selected.

    You will hopefully have also read our own challenge disclaimer to entrants before you entered.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

      As per the privacy notice on the Allsorts challenge blog, I have added my entry into Linky knowing that doing so is deemed as my consent to display my entry on a Winners or Top 5 post should it be selected. You can consider my current comment as consent too. So please don’t hesitate to consider my project! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. A really fabulous mixed media piece. Love the colors and you made great use of the gel print!Thanks so much for sharing at Allsorts challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice page, the colors remind me of autumn. You caught me on a day where I’m gonna say what I feel: I get sooooo tired of everything having to be perfect! As in, having to use a Misti or whatever to stamp. I have a Misti, the Tim platform and a Fiskars platform on spongy legs. And the Fiskars stamps the best for me, HA! I also find that it’s the ink and paper combo that makes or breaks it. And I guess I cannot be bothered to memorize or stick to what is perfect. I know you must be thinking about the butterfly wings not being completely black. Sometimes I take a marker and fill it in. The Pitt Artist Brush Pens work well for this. But most times I just let it be what it is! XOX

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You speak my mind, Aimeslee! Yes, in addition to the butterfly being black-n-white, I would’ve liked it to also look more solid and not as grungy as the rest of the page. The paper & ink combo matters a lot, but I don’t bother about it much for my art journaling and just use scraps. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And you’re right, perfection is overrated. Usually, I just leave my results be. And then there are days when I’m too lazy / low-energy to change things when I wish to, and instead, sigh about using ‘better’ methods. This was one such day; I like the page just fine today. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Fabulous ink work:)
    Very happy to see this in our mailbox at 613 Avenue Create.
    Please come back again!
    The best of luck with your entry.
    Jackie, DT member at 613 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.