Art journal · Mixed media

Cherish

Here’s a recent landscape-mode creation of mine on my A6 art journal. This is the second page I’m trying out in this mode; just switching it up from my usual portrait mode for single pages to see how I like it! 🙂

Art journal page with textured background and a black-and-white butterfly in the foreground

I made this on a tea-dyed copy paper page that I’ve included in my handmade journal. To start with, I adhered scrap paper pieces to parts of the page, over which I applied modeling paste through a stencil. I then added white gesso, initially with a brush, then using my fingers.

I added acrylic drips that I then diluted by spritzing water over them. I also smooshed more acrylics and partially dabbed them away, leaving subtly colored areas especially in the recesses. I also stamped a pattern in some areas, and added acrylic splatters.

Closeup of art journal page with textured background and a black-and-white butterfly in the foreground

For the focal butterfly, I used a stamp with dye ink, and ran a black Copic marker over the stamped regions once again. I then fussy cut and adhered the butterfly to the page.

I used a stamp with dye ink for the quote too, reinforcing the letters with a fineliner. I lightly ran a water-based marker at the edges of the quote and adhered it to the page, and that completed the spread. Ta da! (Or not? My original intent was to have the tea-dyed paper be partially visible, but in the process of creating, that seems to have slipped my mind–oops! Oh well, I have more tea-dyed pages in the journal, and more opportunities ahead. 🙂 )


With this page, I’m joining these challenges –

613 Avenue Create July Challenge - Anything Goes (w/ Optional Twist: Nautical)
613 Avenue Create July Challenge – Anything Goes (w/ Optional Twist: Nautical)
Using brown and teal inspired by sand and water
Art Journal Journey July Challenge - Come Fly With Me
Art Journal Journey July Challenge – Come Fly With Me
Creative Artiste Challenge #95 - Anything Mixed Media Goes
Creative Artiste Challenge #95 – Anything Mixed Media Goes
A Place To Start July Challenge - Anything Goes (Optional: Life Is A Beach!)
A Place To Start July Challenge – Anything Goes (Optional: Life Is A Beach!)
Using brown and teal inspired by sand and water
Use Your Stuff Challenge #488- Summer Moodboard
Use Your Stuff Challenge #488- Summer Moodboard
Using brown and teal inspired by sand and water from moodboard
We Love 2 Create Challenge #6 - Anything Mixed Media Goes
We Love 2 Create Challenge #6 – Anything Mixed Media Goes

Challenge wins –

32 thoughts on “Cherish

  1. Wow, I love all the texture created by your layers of mixed media. Thanks for joining us at Use Your Stuff

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loving all the texture and how the muted colour flows over it, a beautiful resting place for that dynamic butterfly.
    Thank you for sharing @ Creative Artiste’s July Mixed Media Challenge.
    Creative wishes Tracey (DT)

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.