Art journal · Mixed media

All Dreams

Here’s a recent art journal spread of mine –

Art journal spread with vivid colors, stenciled textures, stamped areas, and marks in the background; and black-and-white stamped birds as focal elements

I started this spread by smooshing the pages over diluted acrylics and then spritzing some water to make the colors move more freely. I also brushed white acrylic at the edges later.

Over this, I adhered hand-torn scrap paper. I then applied modeling paste through a stencil, over which I brushed acrylics along with more water spritzing. I seem to have been in the mood to play with a lot of colors!

I then made acrylic marks with my finger, which I then distorted and moved around using a brush. I also brushed a little gesso at the edges to bring back some of the white that I’d added there earlier.

Closeup of art journal spread showing some of the background with vivid colors, stenciled and stamped areas; and a stamped bird as a focal element

Following this, I added more texture to the page using a stamp with dye ink, and made some acrylics splatters. I then added more dots using an oil-based marker and a Posca marker.

For the focal birdies, I used stamps with dye inks on a different piece of paper. I decided to use the birds uncolored since the background is quite vibrant. I fussy cut the birds, adhered them to the page, and reinforced their contours with a gray multiliner and a white gel pen.

I finally adhered a pre-printed quote to the page, and lined its edges with a gray multiliner. That completes the spread, ta da!


With this spread, I’m joining these challenges –

Challenge wins –

14 thoughts on “All Dreams

  1. I am in awe of that background. I just want to run my fingers all over it. Not only is it colorful, it looks so textural, too. I really like how it contrasts with the birds which really sets them apart. These are absolutely perfect for Try it on Tuesday’s Birds and/or Feathers theme.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for that wonderful comment, Bleubeard and Elizabeth! I’m pretty amazed at the vibrancy of the colors myself, and am so glad they don’t compete too much with the texture.

      Like

  2. A fabulous journal spread, love the vibrant colours and textures. The little uncoloured birds really stand out on their background.
    Thanks for sharing with us at Try it on Tuesday. Avril x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for joining our birds/feathers challenge at TIOT. Your journal spread is simply gorgeous. Hope you join us again for the next challenge.
    Regards,
    Mia (DT TIOT)

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.