Art journal · Mixed media

Find the Love… | Art Journal

[Challenge win: Winner at A Bit More Time To Craft challenge]
[Challenge win: Designer spotlight at Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge]

A gel print that I made recently in my art journal had, in my opinion, become unsalvageable, so I overwrote it with a completely different spread.

Find the Love... | Art Journal | Anita

I made this A6 spread over multiple days – I’d fallen ill and I wanted something to feel good about. (I’ve recovered now.) So the page started out with a lot of writing to vent my emotions about the illness. 🙂

I intended to have my words not show, so I painted over it with a mix of acrylics, drying between different layers of color. I then used acrylics and stencils for a flowery and dotted background.

Find the Love... | Art Journal | Anita

I applied yellow and brown colors on a gel plate, and used it as background for a different sheet of scrap paper. I cut out two tags from this. I brushed the tag edges with some distress inks and watercolor pencils, and pasted them onto the paper. I then drew some hearts on the tags.

I made wavy lines with a fineliner, and handwrote a quote with a gel pen. To finish the page, I used some scrap yarn to embellish the tags. Ta da!


 

With this project, I’m joining the following challenges –

Addicted to Stamps and More Challenge #380 - Photo Inspiration
Addicted to Stamps and More Challenge #380 – Photo Inspiration
Arty Divas - Challenge 17
Arty Divas – Challenge 17
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #111 - Anything Goes
A Bit More Time To Craft Challenge #111 – Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge for March - Anything Goes
ABMTTC Extra Challenge for March – Anything Goes
CraftyCatz challenge #496 ATG w/ optional twist of Flowers
CraftyCatz challenge #496 ATG w/ optional twist of Flowers
A Perfect Time To Craft Challenge for March, #3 - 2020
A Perfect Time To Craft Challenge for March, #3 – 2020
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge - A Bit O’ Green
Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – A Bit O’ Green
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge - Use Some Green
Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge – Use Some Green

18 thoughts on “Find the Love… | Art Journal

    1. Thanks so much, Cris! This is yet another create-without-a-plan project, and I’m glad it turned out well. (If only I could figure out how / why they succeed or fail… 🙂 )

      Like

    1. Thank you very much, Mihaela! Changes everywhere these past few days, so I can’t wait to work on a new project to keep positive. Checking out crafty updates from fellow artists is the next best thing, though. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.