Soutache Earrings

A PCA-inspired project that I truly loved researching and working on — Polymer Clay Soutache earrings!

Before I registered for PCA, I had no idea what soutache is. I might actually have pinned soutache jewelry onto my macramé board, for all I know. But after some wandering around the Internet with a purpose, I ended up loving soutache! I think it creates beautiful and elegant pieces. Maybe at some point in my life, I’ll create jewelry using actual soutache. But until then, there’s Jana Murinova’s course on PCA for imitating the technique using polymer clay. 🙂

Imitation Soutache Earrings with Polymer Clay

Imitation Soutache Earrings with Polymer Clay

I chose a color palette that I normally don’t choose, because they were in my old clay stash. I’ve been trying to finish off this stash so I can use more of the new clay that I bought recently. However, the hard-to-condition clay wasn’t really suited for this project — it kept breaking while I worked with it, and I had to attach it again so the breaks aren’t visible, and try to continue where I left off. I did manage to make both earrings resemble each other and look good, but all my eyes can notice are the numerous points where the clay is smooshed due to reattaching. In hindsight, I could’ve just abandoned this after a point, and started with some new clay, but obviously, I didn’t. Anyway, with some good, ‘conditionable’ clay, I’m pretty sure the pieces would end up neater and just gorgeous!

I used faux half pearl beads (those flat-backed, hemispherical ones) as focal pieces and embellishments for my earrings, and would you know, the bubblegum colorway of the clay started to look more elegant! 🙂 Also, the seed beads, I feel, certainly add to the daintiness. When I started the bake, I just never gave a thought to whether the pearl beads might be affected, and surely enough, they were. They’d melted slightly, but more importantly, their sheeny finish was no more — it’s like they’d aged 15 years. I ended up painting these beads with some metallic pearl white acrylic, because they wouldn’t come off the earrings with gentle pries. (So now I know I’m good at setting components in clay. 😛 )  In the future, I really must remember to take them off before baking, and reattach them later with some E6000.

Well, that’s that, and I can’t wait to wear these!

Do you like the look of soutache jewelry? If you’re like me and hadn’t heard of this technique till now, go ahead and look up some pictures — you might end up loving it!

6 thoughts on “Soutache Earrings

  1. I’ve never heard of soutache. Thanks for sharing about it. I never know what knew term or technique I’ll learn when I visit here. Your earrings are really pretty. Red and white are always a winning combination.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Ginny! ☺ It seems like an interesting technique indeed, and it’s fun and involving when made with polymer clay too. 😉
      Oh yes, the colors are very Christmassy, aren’t they? We have a big festival, Diwali, coming up here next month, and I’m hoping to find an opportunity to wear these then! ☺

      Like

  2. Oh wow, I’ve had a crack at soutache. It’s a lot harder and more fiddly than I imagined – and I’m pretty patient! I like your method much better – I may just have to get my poly clay stash out 🙃

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve heard about soutache being taxing on patience, so yup, claying is a life saver for impatient people like me, and, from what you said, also for patient people whose limits it pushes! 😉

      Like

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

