Shadowbox Shrine

Oops, I almost forgot to make something from my PCA course this month. And when I did start work on a project, I accidentally cracked my version #1 when it came out of the oven. I could almost feel this month pass by without a PCA project, but I managed to make a version #2. And I’m delighted with it!

Shadowbox Shrine

Shadowbox Shrine

This mixed media project by Darlene Madden is a shadowbox shrine, and I think it really highlights textures and layers. Darlene uses various media in her project, whereas I used mostly chalks and Perfect Pearls. None of the pictures I clicked do any justice to the splendid shine that comes from the Perfect Pearls. 😦

I sculpted the key by hand, and for its wings, I used a template to cut out a heart shape, cut it vertically into two halves, and cut slits in them to form the ‘feathers’. I die-cut the lace ornament on top-left from paper, and applied metallic paints over it. I like the bling and weirdness it adds to an otherwise serious piece! 🙂

I also love the mystery that the shadow adds to the object in the center — it would be rather boring otherwise. I think I like shadowboxes. How about you — are you a fan of them?

4 thoughts on “Shadowbox Shrine

    • Thank you, E.C.! I was lucky I owned a texture stamp that was just perfect for this project. And the colors in version #2 are indeed better than #1, so I guess it was also fortunate that I broke #1! 😆

      Like

    • Just clay and Perfect Pearls, yes! There’s also chalks but they definitely don’t contribute to the shine. 😉 So absolutely, rummage through that stash of yours! Perfect Pearls are just really powerful, and a small amount goes a long way. Needless to say, I love them! 😀

      Like

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

