Wire crocheted scrunchy bracelet

This is an old project of mine — a bracelet using wire crochet and beads that I made during my early days of discovering wire crochet. It scrunches up a bit if you apply light pressure on it, so you’re safe even if it is slightly bigger than you intended.

Wire-crocheted scrunchy bracelet

Wire-crocheted scrunchy bracelet

I’d just made a few paper beads of varying sizes and shapes (ranging from spherical to thick-saucer) from the same paper, and was looking for ways to incorporate all of them in a jewelry piece. And well, I did want to try out more wire crochet… 🙂 That’s how this project came about.

How I made it

I used three different colors of 26-gauge wire for this bracelet. I cut 5 pieces of wire, each about 24″ (60cm.) I didn’t need to string the beads onto the wires before I started, because the wires are short and beads can be added when needed. (Yay for that!) I divided the beads into three piles, and made chain stitches on three of the wires, adding the beads now and then to the stitches. I made plain chain stitches (with no beads) on the other two wires. I lightly twisted each plain chain with one each of the embellished ones, so there were 3 chains overall. I then wove those into a 3-strand braid. I finally secured both ends and added a clasp.

That was easy, wasn’t it? Let me know if you try it out sometime!

2 thoughts on “Wire crocheted scrunchy bracelet

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

