Squarish paper earrings

My new sideboard arrived recently, and my room finally has some proper furniture in it. Rearranging my stash inevitably followed, and in the process, I found some old one-sided printouts that I’d retained to repurpose as jewelry. So I got to work.

Squarish paper earringsThe base

I cut out eight 1″-wide squares from the paper, and then divided them into two equal piles. I glued together the 4 squares in each pile to make 2 strong squares. (Err, or at least stronger than the individual ones…) I applied my scissors to two opposing points of each square and made them curved. I then used a sharp pin to make a small hole on each square near one of the uncut points. I would use these holes to attach the earring findings later.

The design

I painted a curved gradient on each square using black and dark-blue watercolors. For added effect, I diluted the blue paint on my brush and gently nudged it along, and just outside, the boundary of the curve. That gave it a blot-like look.

I repeated the process on the other surface of the squares, ensuring that the same point is used for the start of the gradient on both sides. I also took care to color the edges of the pieces so the white of the paper doesn’t show up there.

Even after all this, the pieces looked a bit plain, so I borrowed my sister’s Signo white pen and drew some waves and curves on them. Much better!

The finish

Alright, it was time for some gloss! I applied two coats of Mod Podge with a satin-finish on the pieces, each coat applied after the previous had finished drying. (The satin finish is quite glossy. I’d expected a light sheen, but nope, the shine almost blinded me. 😉 ) I then attached a large jump ring each through the holes, and finally added earring findings to the jump rings. Happiness!

So, do you like flat paper earrings like these?

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

