Bead-crocheted bracelet

Bead Crochet Bracelet

Bead Crochet Bracelet

Ow! Ow! Ow!

That’s my fingers crying. They don’t hurt much now, but by the time I was done making this bracelet, they were not happy. But even they have to agree that it was worth it. As they say — “No pain, no gain.” (Although, there might be a less painful way of making these bracelets. More thoughts on that later.)

I’d learned about bead crochet a really long time ago, but had never got a chance to work much on it. Mainly because I didn’t have the appropriate crochet hook. Now that I’ve bought a size 11 steel one (to try out wire crochet, mostly), I was ready to give bead crocheting a try.

I got out some nylon beading thread along with huge stashes of various cylinder beads. I would make a 6-bead spiral, with alternating dark and light beads. For the dark color, I chose the dark blue stash that included some heavy metallic (almost-blue) green cylinder beads. For the light color, I chose white beads, and some brown ones scattered randomly amongst them. It was then time to start crocheting!

I used about 240 beads for each ‘arm’ of the bracelet, with alternating dark and light beads. I pre-strung the beads onto the thread, made the initial loop with 6 beads, and built on the loop until the rope was a little less than 3″ long. It was a bit tedious when I started with the first rope, but by the time I got to the second rope, I wasn’t even consciously thinking about what I was doing.

When both ropes were ready, I chained two jump rings and added them to one of the ropes, and chained a lobster claw clasp to a jump ring, which I attached to the other rope. I then took a length of 22-gauge wire to add the central bead. (That’s a bit weak for a bracelet, I know, but I don’t own thicker wires…) I strung onto it a large, but low-key, off-white bead flanked by two ornamental spacer beads. I then attached the wire to the free ends of both ropes by making eye loops. Done!

Bead Crochet Bracelet

Now, about that less painful way of making this bracelet. The problem: repeatedly pushing your crochet hook into tiny gaps between beads and their supporting threads is not good for your fingers. The solution: Kumihimo! I’ve been wanting to buy a Kumihimo disk lately, but they don’t seem to be available in this part of the world. Something to add to my to-ask-friends-traveling-abroad-soon list. 😀

If you have other thoughts about kumihimo vs. bead crochet, I’m very interested in knowing.

5 thoughts on “Bead-crocheted bracelet

I'd love to know what you think, so type away!

